Select Page

Ekiti House of Assembly extends suspension of 12 members

Ekiti House of Assembly extends suspension of 12 members

The Ekiti State House of Assembly has extended the suspension order placed on 12 Lawmakers by another 30 legislative days.

This was contained in a resolution passed at plenary in Ado-Ekiti on Tuesday.

It would be recalled that 12 members of the Assembly were suspended for 125 days in October 2018 for alleged participation in the passage of the N10 billion supplementary budget at the twilight of the immediate past
government of Chief Ayodele Fayose.

The House described the action of the purported passage of the
supplementary budget as illegal and extended the suspension days of the members involved by another 30 days after a motion was moved by the Leader of government Business, Hon. Gboyega Aribisogan and seconded by Hon. Cecelia Dada.

Two of the suspended members had earlier been reinstated by the House. The two Lawmakers are; Hon. Adewale Ayeni, representing Ikere Constituency 1 and Temitope Fasanmi, Ado Constituency ll, while the reinstatement request of the Lawmaker representing Ido/Osi Constituency ll, Hon. Samuel Jeje was turned down at plenary.

With the extension of the suspension order, the affected Lawmakers might not participate in further legislative process of the present Fifth Assembly.

About The Author

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *